top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Lipps



My ADL Experience

As a student educated in the 80s and 90s, I was taught that to be successful in school, I was expected to memorize information and regurgitate it on tests. However, with knowledge growing exponentially, those expectations are no longer realistic for today's students. The Applied Digital Learning (ADL) program has allowed me to take ownership of my learning and how I present my journey of growth and creativity to the world. My journey through the ADL program has encouraged me to no longer work in isolation. I have learned to collaborate with my peers, expand my professional learning network globally, and become more active in the EdTech community by attending and presenting at conferences.







Navigating Organizational Transformation

Education has undergone unprecedented challenges in recent years, necessitating a transformation. My childhood learning experiences, which were dominated by behaviorism and its reinforcement approach, are vastly different from the needs of today's students. As schools embrace diversity and inclusion, educators face the challenge of integrating technology to meet the needs of students from different backgrounds with different learning needs.


My innovation plan, developed in response to these challenges, proposes the creation of student technology teams. These teams would provide a wealth of knowledge to pave the way for collaborative learning, supporting diverse learning needs and engaging peer interactions. In doing so, they offer much-needed generational insight and technology support for teachers trying to create significant learning environments and increase student engagement in classrooms filled with digital natives.


This is just the beginning of an exciting journey where technology and teamwork can lead to organizational change, creating an inclusive and energizing space for every learner.



The Impact of COVA on My Educational Philosophy

and Instructional Approach


While pursuing my master's degree, I came across the COVA model, a framework deeply aligned with the heart of my innovation plan. The COVA principles of Choice, Ownership, Voice, and Authentic learning experiences are in perfect harmony with the objectives of the student technology teams (Harapnuik, 2018). My educational journey has taken me from a behaviorist approach to embracing constructivism and connectivism (Corbett & Spinello, 2020; Goldie, 2016). I believe in active, lifelong learning, where students build knowledge through experiences and interactions, a philosophy that integrates perfectly with COVA's emphasis on choice, ownership, voice, and authenticity in learning experiences. COVA principles resonate deeply with the student technology team’s core objectives, which interweave through every aspect, from technological support to student empowerment and community building.

Moreover, COVA doesn't just align with my instructional approach—it elevates it. Serving as a roadmap, guiding the development and opportunities to increase student voice and autonomy when possible, ensuring learning remains student-centered and empowerment-focused while addressing the diverse needs of junior high students and fostering a positive learning environment. In short, I believe that students learn best when actively involved in their own learning and that the COVA model provides a framework for creating such an environment.




Integrating the COVA Model in My Current Practices


Implementing the COVA model in my teaching has been a process of reflection, adaptation, and growth. I try to provide more learning activities that embody COVA by providing students with choice and ownership over their learning experiences, allowing their voices to be heard within the classroom while engaging in authentic, meaningful assignments. As a teacher, integrating COVA means actively facilitating these student-led projects, creating an environment where learning is not just teacher-centered but is a collaborative endeavor. This approach has not only empowered students but also revitalized my teaching practices, fostering a culture of mutual respect, continuous learning, and innovation.


One instance of integrating COVA is my onboarding program for student technology teams. The framework was created through a careful and thoughtful process. The onboarding program for the student technology teams embodies COVA principles, establishing clear objectives and expectations in collaboration with educators and students (Fink, 2003). As students grow and develop, the program shifts from being teacher-led to increasingly student-centered, reflecting the shift from guided to independent learning seen in the COVA model. This integration is also reflected in my role, transitioning from presenter and facilitator to coach and mentor. I embody the principles of COVA in practice, fostering an environment where students are not mere participants but active contributors and leaders in their technological learning journey.


In other words, I have created a program that allows students to learn about technology in a way that is both challenging and engaging. I have also created a supportive environment where students and teachers can be supported and get help when needed.






REFERENCES


Corbett, F. & Spinello, E. (2020). Connectivism and leadership: harnessing a learning theory for the digital age to redefine leadership in the twenty-first century. Heliyon, 6(1) https://doi-org.libproxy.lamar.edu/10.1016/j.heliyon.2020.e03250


​​Fink, L. D. (2003). A self-directed guide to designing courses for significant learning. Creating Significant Learning Experiences: An Integrated Approach to Designing College Courses. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.


Goldie, J. G. S. (2016). Connectivism: A knowledge learning theory for the digital age? Medical Teacher, 38(10), 1064–1069.


Harapnuik, D. (2018, July 14). COVA. Harapnuik.org. https://www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=6991




Comments


Tags

bottom of page