top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Lipps

Image: THE TAXONOMY OF SIGNIFICANT LEARNING (Fink,2003)


According L. Dee Fink (2003), many educators have little training in instructional design, therefore, they are limited in their ability to design courses that include include ideas such as active learning, significant learning, and educative assessment. In preparation of my implementing my Innovation Plan, I have used three worksheets from Fink’s’ Self-Directed Guide to Designing Courses for Significant Learning to rethink my initial innovation plan. Instead of just “collecting dots”, I am able to take a more holistic view of my plan by considering broader, more meaningful, and the lasting impacts of the Student Technology Teams (Harapnuik, 2015, Godin, 2012). I was able to outline the learning environment, address situational factors, and articulate significant learning goals for the team. The undertaking this process has enabled my to articulate my plan to my fellow educators, stakeholders, and future technology team members.





My Big Harry Audacious Goal (BHAG) for the course is to create a Student Technology Team to help teachers and students at my school successfully (and hopefully painlessly) integrate technology in the classroom so that students can have more choice and authenticity in their assessments for learning. I hope that one day this could lead to more technology courses, Code.org’s CS Discoveries. Through these additional technology courses, I hope to encourage a greater diversity of students taking computer science at high school and college levels in the future.


I also plan to apply for a coveted spot at this summer’s ARRL Teachers Institute on Wireless Technology. The Teachers Institute is an expenses-paid professional development program with lectures, hands-on activities, and demonstrations intended to provide teachers with tools and strategies to introduce basic electronics, radio science, satellite communications, Amateur Radio, weather science, microcontrollers, and electronic sensors to their students. Through this training, I hope to find a way to give students a well-rounded view of technology.


Fink, L. D., PhD. (n.d.). A self-directed guide to designing courses for significant learning. Retrieved from https://luonline.blackboard.com/bbcswebdav/

pid-3042999-dt-content-rid-30108308_1/courses/13583.201810/Self-Directed%20Guide%20to%20Course%20Design%20-%20Fink%20Summary.pdf

Godin, S. [TEDxYouth]. (2012, October 16). Stop stealing dreams [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sXpbONjV1Jc

Harapnuik, D. (2015, August 15). Connecting the dots vs. collecting the dots [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=85XpexQy68g






Comments


Tags

bottom of page